Matt Salmon Signs Taxpayer Protection Pledge


June 8, 2011
Salmon for Congress

"As a man of my word, my constituents can be certain that I will not support any legislation that increases their taxes in any form."

EAST VALLEY – Matt Salmon, Republican candidate for Arizona’s 6th Congressional District today announced his signing of the Americans for Tax Reform’s Taxpayer Protection Pledge. Matt had the following to say about his promise to oppose any and all efforts to increase taxes while in Congress:

"I am proud to sign the Taxpayer Protection Pledge. As a man of my word, my constituents can be certain that I will not support any legislation that increases their taxes in any form. In Congress, not only will I fight against any efforts to raise taxes, but I will work tirelessly to lower the tax burden on working families and small businesses so that we can get our economy back on track and more Arizonans working again."

Upon Matt’s signing of the Pledge, Grover Norquist, President of the Americans for Tax Reform, released the following statement:

"I want to congratulate former Congressman Salmon for taking the Taxpayer Protection Pledge in his bid to reclaim his former seat in Congress. The American people clearly showed their displeasure last November with the tax-and-spend policies coming from Washington. They want real solutions that create jobs, cut government spending, and get the economy going again. By signing the Pledge, Matt Salmon demonstrates that he understands the problems of hard-working taxpayers nationwide, but especially the taxpayers of Arizona."

About the Americans for Tax Reform
Americans for Tax Reform (ATR) is the nation’s preeminent organization in opposing all tax increases at the federal and state level. ATR was founded in 1985 by Grover Norquist at the request of President Ronald Reagan. ATR’s flagship project is the Taxpayer Protection Pledge, a written promise by legislators and candidates for office that commits them to oppose any effort to increase income taxes on individuals and businesses. Since ATR first sponsored the Pledge in 1986, hundreds of U.S. Representatives, more than fifty U.S. Senators and every successful Republican Presidential candidate have all signed the Pledge.

About Matt Salmon
Matt Salmon was first elected to the United States Congress in 1994 and served until 2000, honoring his term limit pledge.  A proud fiscal conservative, Salmon was rated in the top five among all 535 members of the House and Senate by Citizen’s Against Government Waste for all six years he was in office.  He is a lifetime member of the NRA with an A+ rating and also earned a 100% rating by the National Right to Life.  He was also the proud recipient of the American Cancer Society’s "Top National Elected Official" award.

<- Go Back