Salmon Commits to No Climate Tax Pledge


August 11, 2011
Salmon for Congress

Opposes Climate Legislation that Results in Higher Tax Burden on Citizens

EAST VALLEY – Former Congressman and candidate for Arizona’s 6th Congressional District Matt Salmon announced today his signing of the Americans for Prosperity’s No Climate tax Pledge. Salmon released the following statement regarding his pledge to oppose climate legislation that results in higher taxes:

“I proudly support the efforts by Americans for Prosperity to protect taxpayers from tax increases due to climate change legislation. As I learned during my previous tenure in Congress, politicians are always looking for excuses to raise revenue through tax hikes and the climate change issue has become another bad argument for doing so. I pledge to oppose any efforts by these tax-and-spend lawmakers to increase the tax burden on citizens and businesses when I go back to Washington.”

About Americans for Prosperity & No Climate Tax Pledge
Americans for Prosperity (AFP) is committed to educating citizens about economic policy and mobilizing those citizens as advocates in the public policy process. AFP is an organization of grassroots leaders who engage citizens in the name of limited government and free markets on the local, state, and federal levels. The grassroots activists of AFP advocate for public policies that champion the principles of entrepreneurship and fiscal and regulatory restraint. Americans for Prosperity has more than 1,750,000 activists in all 50 states, and 31 state chapters and affiliates.

The No Climate Tax Pledge is a project of Americans for Prosperity. The pledge simply states that candidates will "oppose any legislation relating to climate change that includes a net increase in government revenue." The objective of the pledge is to separate the tax question from the climate change issue. AFP does not believe it is appropriate to hide tax hikes in environmental bills.  Instead, AFP believes these bills should be revenue neutral, holding taxpayers harmless by offsetting every dollar of revenue raised through environmental taxes and regulations with tax cuts. Prominent signers of the pledge include U.S. Senators Rubio, Paul, Thune, Inhofe, Coburn, Roberts, Lee, and Johnson, along with 151 U.S. Representatives and eight governors.

About Matt Salmon
Matt Salmon was first elected to the United States Congress in 1994 and served until 2000, honoring his term limit pledge.  A proud fiscal conservative, Salmon was rated in the top five among all 535 members of the House and Senate by Citizen’s Against Government Waste for all six years he was in office.  He is a lifetime member of the NRA with an A+ rating and also earned a 100% rating by the National Right to Life.  He was also the proud recipient of the American Cancer Society’s “Top National Elected Official” award. 

Matt Salmon has received endorsements from Arizona Congressman Trent Franks, former Arizona Congressman John Shadegg, Maricopa County Sheriff Joe Arpaio, South Dakota Senator John Thune, East Valley mayors Gail Barney (Queen Creek), Hugh Hallman (Tempe) and John Insalaco (Apache Junction).

<- Go Back