Salmon Working for East Valley "Center of Excellence" Designation


March 16, 2012

Salmon meeting with House Armed Services Chair and business leaders to strengthen pitch for East Valley as location for unmanned aerial systems

EAST VALLEY - Former Congressman and candidate for Arizona's 5th Congressional District Matt Salmon met with Chairman of the House Armed Services Committee Rep. Buck McKeon (R-CA) and business leaders from across the state to discuss how to promote the East Valley to become a "Center of Excellence" designee for development and testing of Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS).

Former Congressman Matt Salmon stated, "I am working with elected officials and business leaders throughout the East Valley to make a strong, united push to bring a 'Center of Excellence' designation to our area. This would bring jobs to our district and refuel our economy, as well as becoming a point of pride for East Valley residents. Just as I support Luke Air Force Base and its mission in the West Valley, I believe we have something just as important in our area. I am committed to doing what it takes to fight for jobs in our district and our state."

Congressman Buck McKeon stated, "I am confident in Matt's leadership abilities and his understanding of defense projects like the UAS. Matt has been a consistent supporter of military bases and projects and has a great deal of respect for our military and veterans. East Valley voters can trust him to work for jobs and I believe he will make a strong leader for their district in Congress."

About the Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS)
The Federal Aviation Administration announced last week the start of their search to designate six sites for testing and developing aircraft piloted from the ground. The agency said the information from the test sites would be used to help integrate unnamed aircraft into the U.S. aviation system. The project requires testing facilities and available airspace. States from across the country are currently competing for these designations. Local elected officials and business leaders from across the East Valley have come together to help land one of the "Center of Excellence" designations.

About Congressman Buck McKeon
U.S. Rep. Howard P. "Buck" McKeon is a champion of a strong national defense, the men and women of America's Armed Forces and their families, easing the nation's national debt, and returning fiscal discipline to the Department of Defense. McKeon was selected by his peers to serve as Chairman of the House Armed Services Committee in the 112th Congress. He was first named Ranking Member of the Committee in June 2009.

As Armed Services Committee Ranking Member, McKeon fought to strengthen our military and invest in a force postured to meet the challenges of the 21st century, while working to provide the necessary resources for America's sons and daughters in Afghanistan and Iraq. He also led efforts to keep terrorist detainees off of U.S. soil, boost funding for missile defense, and restore the tradition of passing defense authorization bills devoid of controversial social items.

About Matt Salmon
Matt Salmon was first elected to the United States Congress in 1994 and served until 2000, honoring his term limit pledge. A proud conservative, Salmon was rated in the top five among all 535 members of the House and Senate by Citizen's Against Government Waste for all six years he was in office. He is a lifetime member of the NRA with an A+ rating and also earned a 100% rating by the National Right to Life. He was also the proud recipient of the American Cancer Society's "Top National Elected Official" award.

Matt Salmon has received the endorsements from Arizona Congressmen Trent Franks and David Schweikert, former Arizona Congressman John Shadegg, Maricopa County Sheriff Joe Arpaio, Mayors Scott Smith (Mesa), Jay Tibshraeny (Chandler), Hugh Hallman (Tempe), John Insalaco (Apache Junction) and Gail Barney (Queen Creek), fourteen (14) Arizona state senators and fifteen (15) Arizona state representatives. Salmon has also been endorsed by South Dakota Senator John Thune, Oklahoma Senator Tom Coburn, Pennsylvania Senator Pat Toomey and Congressman Darrell Issa (CA-49).

<- Go Back